Original story posted in Travel and Leisure

I happened to be reading in Essence Magazine and learned that Drivers license from 9 US states will no longer be valid for domestic travel.  I had to dive into this article to find out exactly what was going on. 

It turns out that residents of Kentucky, Main, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina and Washington will have to use an alternative form of ID starting in 2018 just to pass TSA security checkpoints and travel within the United States.  Signs are being placed around airport security checkpoints to inform travelers of the new ruling.  It is because these states do not meet the federal minimum security standards (according to the REAL ID Act of 2005).  In order for them to pass the government security standards they must verify every ID applicants identity, put anti-counterfeit technology in the production of the card and conduct background checks on those who issue driver’s licenses. 

If you live in any one of these nine states, check with your local authorities before you travel to make sure you are up to code.  

Check out the full story at http://www.travelandleisure.com/airlines-airports/no-drivers-license-tsa-rule